RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Passenger Trains » Amtrak » XCountry Trip Planning

Author Topic: XCountry Trip Planning
MdmMim
Member # 2355

Rate Member
Icon 5 posted      Profile for MdmMim     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I am currently planning a trip for next November, leaving from Albany/Rensselaer to LAX.

Do any of you have any suggestions regarding which train I should take--Southwest Chief vs. Texas Eagle/Sunset Limited? I am very interested in the scenery. (I always have my face plastered up against the window when I'm on a train!)

I am a veteran of 60+ trips up and down the east coast, from Miami to Montreal, so I'm very familiar with those trains, but have no knowledge of the midwestern or western trains.

Thank you for any advice.

Posts: 10 | Registered: Mar 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
train lady
Member # 3920

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted      Profile for train lady     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I have taken both trains and I prefer the chief.Others may disagree but I found the many hours across Texas rather boring. Then it was so Late that we missed the scenery we really wanted to see. But since you have taken neither why not take one route out and the other route back?
Posts: 1577 | From: virginia | Registered: Jun 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
notelvis
Member # 3071

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted      Profile for notelvis     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Train Lady offers good advice. If you are taking the train roundtrip I'd try one train one direction and the other for coming back.

The most interesting scenery for my tastes is the middle day on the Southwest Chief crossing Raton Pass and then descending through northern New Mexico.