RailForum.com
TrainWeb.com

RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Passenger Trains » Amtrak » Any information on possibility of Amtrak service to Quad Cities Area, IL?

Author Topic: Any information on possibility of Amtrak service to Quad Cities Area, IL?
TheBriz09
Member # 3166

Rate Member
Icon 5 posted      Profile for TheBriz09     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hey everyone, been awhile since I've posted on here. Anyway, I'm a student at Augustana College in IL and my group and I are researching the feasibilty of getting Amtrak service extended from Chicago to the Quad City Area of Illinois (that's Rock Island and Moline, IL and Bettendorf and Davenport, IA). I think I'm pretty well versed in the intracacies (sp?) of Amtrak funding and I'm pretty certain that they have neither the available rolling stock nor willingness from the state to kick up the subsidy AGAIN... but hence the feasibility study.

So I was just wondering if anyone had any interesting facts or figures pertaining to that particular line, or if anyone knew anyone that I might be able to contact who could help us out. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

Posts: 93 | From: Batavia, IL | Registered: Apr 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
George Harris
Member # 2077

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted      Profile for George Harris     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Where is your knowledge of what has been there in the past? Also, what sort of information do you have at hand?