RailForum.com
TrainWeb.com

RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Passenger Trains » Amtrak » Minnesota Bridge Collapse (Page 2)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2   
Author Topic: Minnesota Bridge Collapse
Kiernan
Member # 3828

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Kiernan   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Since I'm a registered professional civil engineer in two states, I'll try to answer Train Lady's question.

Lots of things can cause a bridge to collapse. We've all seen film of the Tacoma Narrows Bridge--sometimes called Galloping Gertie--as it failed in wind. No weight at all on the bridge. Certainly an earthquake could make a bridge come down, as happened in the East Bay during the Loma Prieta earthquake, which also took down the bell tower at my high school. What happened in Minnesota was probably the failure of some specific component on the bridge. That bridge was designed in the B.C. years--Before Computers. It's quite simple now to make a computer model of a bridge and allow the computer to simulate component failure. And then modify the design.

The Minnesota bridge was a steel arch. Arches are common bridge structures, the Roman aquaduct bridges were built with arches. The Roman bridges, though, used stone or masonry for their arches, an ideal material. Steel arches are generally made from pieces that are connected together, usually with rivets or high-strength steel bolts. These bolts or rivets can fail, particularly when the road maintenance crews use salt in the winter.