RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Passenger Trains » Amtrak » Coast Starlight Delay

Author Topic: Coast Starlight Delay
yukon11
Member # 2997

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted      Profile for yukon11     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
(12/4/07 - 1:30 PM)

I'm an amateur radio operator. I just worked a station near Portland, Oregon. He mentioned some delays in the Coast Starlight due to a major storm going through Oregon. He said he read, this morning in the Portland Oregonian, that there is major track damage around the Centralia, WA area. Water damage, flooding, trees and other debris on the track. The newspaper said it might be, at least, a couple of more days before the Amtrak trains can run through the Centralia area. I went to the Amtrak web site and nothing mentioned. Has anyone heard any further information?

Richard

Posts: 1909 | From: Santa Rosa | Registered: Jan 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
HopefulRailUser
Member # 4513

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted      Profile for HopefulRailUser     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
It's all there, here is a copy:

Amtrak Service in the Pacific Northwest Disrupted Tuesday, December 4, Due to Extreme Weather

December 3, 2007
5:30 pm PDT

Due to extreme weather in the Pacific Northwest resulting in downed trees, mudslides and the closure of Interstate I-5 in the Olympia and Chehalis, WA area, Amtrak Cascades service between Portland and Vancouver, BC, will be cancelled Tuesday, December 4, with no alternate transportation. Other Amtrak services will also be affected.

Cascades

Train service on the Amtrak Cascades service (Portland - Seattle - Vancouver, BC) will be cancelled on Tuesday with no alternate transportation. Normal train service will operate between Eugene and Portland.

Coast Starlight