RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Model Railroading » HO SCale » Opinions

Author Topic: Opinions
NewHavenFan
Member # 2150

Rate Member
Icon 5 posted      Profile for NewHavenFan     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hello , I am NEW to this hobby , and I am in the process of planning out and constucting my first layout... I am interested in purchasing a New Haven GG1 for my HO scale layout.. I am presently looking at the IHC premier series... Can I get any opinions on this loco , or GG1's by other manufacturers ( preferably in the $100 range ) ?? Thanks in advance for your replies !
Posts: 40 | From: Stafford Springs , CT. , USA | Registered: Dec 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Kennedy Model Trains
Member # 808

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Kennedy Model Trains   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Generally, my experience with these has been that the more money you spend, the better the product you get. Try cruising the train shows. I picked up a very decent model, I forget which manufacturer, for less than $20. Great deals are out there.

Jared

Posts: 61 | From: New London, CT, USA | Registered: May 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Chuck Walsh
Member # 677

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Chuck Walsh   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
You can spend over $200.00 for the latest version from Broadway Limited but for $60.00
you can get your moneies worth from IHC.

Go to their site, www.ihc-hobby.com and on the left hand side, click on the on line catalog,
then click on HO, then locomotives, GG1. When the GG1 model pops up, put your mouse over the picture and click. This will bring up all the road names/prices.