RailForum.com
TrainWeb.com

RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » » Model Railroading » Semi-new guy - help!

Author Topic: Semi-new guy - help!
woodguy
Member # 2319

Rate Member
Icon 5 posted      Profile for woodguy     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I am somewhat new to the hobby. I had an HO 4x8 layout from age 5 to 16. 18 years later, I am setting up another layout, unfortunately only 4x8 again due to lack of space. However, I am discovering a few new aspects of the hobby that I have questions about. For example, I now have an airbrush, I have discovered Kadee couplers, etc.
I have a lot of my old rolling stock, much of which had gotten painted over several times during my early teenage years when I knew no better. I stripped the paint from these using brake fluid, (with great results!) and have since properly sprayed and lettered. However, the trucks need to be painted. When painting (weathering) the trucks, does the overspray need to be removed from the contact area of the wheels to keep the tracks clean? I am using mostly solvent based paints such as Floquil.
I have a couple of F7 units in need of a paint job which will require several colors, and thus several maskings. Does anyone have any suggestions to make the masking sessions easier and less tedious? I have seen a latex product that you brush on, and then slice off in the areas to be painted. Does this product work any better than tape?
This is a long shot, but I am looking for a manufacturer of a model G-8, an NF-210, and an NF-220 locomotive, I believe the prototypes were made by EMC. These were narrow guage locos that were in service in Newfoundland, Canada.
Finally, a really dumb question. When the HP rating is given for a diesel-electric loco, does it refer to the output of the diesel engine, of to the electric traction motors?