RailForum.com
TrainWeb.com

RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Model Railroading » Layout Design and Track Structures » Realistic Railroad Bridge Modeling

Author Topic: Realistic Railroad Bridge Modeling
BridgeGuy
Member # 2246

Rate Member
Icon 5 posted      Profile for BridgeGuy     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Greetings! I am a practicing structural engineer who specializes in railroad bridge design. I'm also a former model railroader, though I'm not currently active in the hobby. Over the years, I've seen a great many model railroad layouts with "scratch-built" bridges that would never support an actual train if they were "scaled up," so to speak. Usually the length to depth ratios are way too large for the equipment in use. Knowing that model railroaders are seeking realism on a small scale, I've wondered if there would be a market within the model railroading community for authentic, model bridge plans produced by someone of my expertise? Would appreciate your feedback on this issue.
Posts: 3 | Registered: Jan 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Challenger
Member # 1298

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Challenger     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Well I dont know about alot of other people. but I am. I am trying to enter the model manufacturing market. Maybe we can work something out as to maybe supplying the plans to modelers and or developing kits from them.

If your interested in this proposal give me an email at mrljames@hrp.every1.net

Thanks.

James.

Posts: 315 | From: Lander,WY USA | Registered: Jan 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Cthetrains
Member # 2148

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Cthetrains     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote