RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Railfans » Eastern US » Magazine Story

Author Topic: Magazine Story
Jay Kirk
Member # 1258

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Jay Kirk     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Dear Railfans:

Greetings. I am a magazine writer in Philadelphia -- I've written
for the New York Times Magazine, Chicago Reader, Philadelphia Inquirer
Magazine -- who just happened to grow up with a rail-fan father. When I was
a kid, no family outing went without a stop at a rail yard, and our Sundays
were spent watching train slide shows. You are probably familiar with this
scenario. I would like to capture this scenario in a magazine feature.

I am planning to write a feature about rail-fans. I would like to, in a
nutshell, tag along with the most hardcore trainspotters, and tell their
story. I am looking for rail-fans (especially in Pennsylvania, but also
New Jersey, or New York) who have great stories, who have spent enough time
on the tracks to have had strange and powerful encounters, who can discuss
the lore of the secret spot, the rail camps, the peril of the hunt, and the meaning behind it all.
I would especially like to talk to rail-fans who have had experiences that
have, for better or worse, changed their lives.

If you know how I might go about meeting some people who might fit this
description, including yourself, I would love to hear back from you.
Perhaps you might also suggest a listserv where I could also post this
invitation?

Yours Truly,
Jay Kirk

Posts: 1 | From: Philadelphia, PA | Registered: Jan 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
CV
Member # 1114

Rate Member
Icon 14 posted      Profile for CV     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote