RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Passenger Trains » Amtrak » Zephyr trip delays

Author Topic: Zephyr trip delays
a1
Member # 2808

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for a1     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Hello everyone. I'm new to Amtrak travel so I want to address a potential problem to all you rail travel enthusiasts out there.

I am debating whether to drive to Chicago in early December or take the Zephyr. I appreciate the general information about this trip posted in other threads on this board. It has been very helpful to give me a reasonable idea of what the trip would be like.

However, I have not seen that much info here regarding delays. I realize that many unforeseen problems can arise on any given trip, but I have heard from other sources that long distance Amtrak trains are chronically late. Is this true?

My specific concern is that the Zephyr will be late in arriving at Chicago from Emeryville. The schedule calls for the train to arrive at 3:30pm. The car rental office at Union Station closes at 6pm. Is there a significant possibility the train will be more that 21/2 hours late?

Thanks to all respondents.

Posts: 3 | Registered: Oct 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
CK
Member # 589

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for CK     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I had shared your concern prior to taking the CZ. Since, my wife & I have taken the CZ from Emeryville to Chicago several times and have always arrived within one hour of the scheduled arrival time.