RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Passenger Trains » Amtrak » Late train credits

Author Topic: Late train credits
chaslett
Member # 1012

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for chaslett     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
On my last two trains into Chicago, the CZ and the TE were over 4 hours late and my last LSL was 6 hours late into Boston.
Several passengers told me I should call Amtrak and they give some credit toward next tickets.
I have been riding Amtrak as my only means of travel since 1996 and had never heard this before.
Is this true? Thought I would call and see but wanted to see if others had heard this before.
Thanks.

Posts: 54 | From: Chagrin Falls, OH, USA | Registered: Aug 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Gilbert B Norman
Member # 1541

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Gilbert B Norman     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Amtrak discontinued the "satisfaction guaranteed" goodwill program shortly the Gunn administration was in place. However, they will still review complaints and, on a case by case basis, award "goodwill" consideration.

The reason I emphasize the phrase "goodwill" is because if they got you from your intended origin to destination with your body and baggage intact, they have fufilled the transportation contract. Under the terms of that contract, Amtrak owes you nothing further.

Posts: 9975 | From: Clarendon Hills, IL USA (BNSF Chicago Sub MP 18.71) | Registered: Apr 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Geoff Mayo
Member # 153

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Geoff Mayo   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote