RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Passenger Trains » Amtrak » Need Help with Trip Planning

Author Topic: Need Help with Trip Planning
Mark R
Member # 9509

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Mark R         Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I am new to LD train travel and I am planning to fly into Chicago and take a big cicle tour on the following three trains. The Empire Builder,the Coast Starlight and the Southwest Chief. I am thinking of going the first weeks in October but that is not mandatory if there are better times. I want to know which direction I should start in, Empire or Chief to get maximum senic views for most of my trip. I will of course use sleeper service but I am not planning to stay in any hotels between trains. Is this trip possible?
Posts: 2 | Registered: Jul 2008  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Gilbert B Norman
Member # 1541

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Gilbert B Norman     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Yes Mark, it is possible to make a "no hotels" journey other than at LA for your proposed 11-LAX-4 connection. If you wish a same day connection, you must use 11-MTZ-712-BFD-3712-LAX-4 and miss the Coastal scenery in favor of "if you've seen one Big Agra farm, you've seen 'em all".

But I would strongly suggest "spacing out journey"; after all what is the goal; ride trains or see the Western US?

Your choice to use Sleepers is indeed wise; but a few $$$ for en route hotels (I'm sure local knowledge at this Forum can poiint you to properties <$200 in any major West Coast city) will ensure you don't become zombied snd start commenting to yourself in a mirror "why, WHY, am I doing this?".

Posts: 9976 | From: Clarendon Hills, IL USA (BNSF Chicago Sub MP 18.71) | Registered: Apr 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Mark R