RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Passenger Trains » Amtrak » Magic in those announcements

Author Topic: Magic in those announcements
HillsideStation
Member # 6386

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for HillsideStation     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I guess I'm a romantic as well as an old fool; but the adrenaline starts pumping when ever I hear departure, or for that matter arrival announcements at train stations such as Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Washington, Chicago, etc..
It goes back to the days I worked as a ground agent for a major U.S. flag airline. Announcements with destinations like, Paris, Rome, Athens, Cairo, Columbo and Bankok made my pedestrian job seem a little more glamorous. Today I still get a rush when at Boston an Acela to Washington (and its intermediate stops) is announced and the passengers begin to flood toward the departure track. I get the same feeling at other boarding points/trains such as Los Angeles, Seattle, Emeryville. Probably a function of age and as I mentioned romantics; but its magic.
Best regards,
Rodger...as mother used to opine:There's no fool like an old fool.

Posts: 112 | From: Merrimac, MA | Registered: Nov 2007  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
sojourner
Member # 3134

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted      Profile for sojourner         Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Rodger, I absolutely know how you feel, because I feel the same. In fact, I first began taking long-distance trains when I was sitting in a station waiting for a simple Empire Service train to NYC and heard the Lakeshore Ltd westbound announced. I said to myself, "I'd like to be on that train to Cleveland, or Chicago, or points west . . . " and not long afterward, I was!