RailForum.com
TrainWeb.com

RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Passenger Trains » Amtrak » annoying pop-up on this web site

   
Author Topic: annoying pop-up on this web site
RRRICH
Full Member
Member # 1418

Member Rated:
5
Icon 1 posted      Profile for RRRICH     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
For the last week or so, I've gotten a "pop-up" on the left side of my screen whenever I log in to Train Web. I don't know what it is, but it has a little "T" in the upper left corner, and is a pop-up for more railroad searches. Has anyone else gotten this? How do I get rid of it? It tends to slow down Train Web.
Posts: 2427 | From: Grayling, MI | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
DonNadeau
Full Member
Member # 61606

Member Rated:
5
Icon 1 posted      Profile for DonNadeau   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Please give us information about the computer you use (PC, Mac, etc.) and the browser versions (e.g., Safari 7.0.1, Chrome ...) you use.

Before doing this, make sure that your have downloaded and installed the latest versions of your browsers. They're free so don't be shy.

--------------------
@DonNadeau

Posts: 366 | From: Iowa | Registered: Apr 2013  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Gilbert B Norman
Full Member
Member # 1541

Member Rated:
4
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Gilbert B Norman     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Rich, this past summer I had a like situation, however mine was not limited to railroad related matters. While not porn, the ads popping up were 'in bad taste'. Ads such as 'view arrest records' and 'hot dates for you in Clarendon Hills' showed up, not only here but on The New York Times site as well.

I was getting ready to call Geek Squad - and part ways with $100, however I tried with XP and IE7 Tools/Manage Add Ons. I disabled anything that showed up recently and with strange names like 'Marketflash'. When I next have Geek Squad over, I'll get them removed, but for now the 'disable' seems to work.

Posts: 9391 | From: Clarendon Hills, IL USA (BNSF Chicago Sub MP 18.71) | Registered: Apr 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
smitty195
Full Member
Member # 5102

Member Rated:
5
Icon 1 posted      Profile for smitty195     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Ditto what Don said....can't really diagnose or discuss without the specifics.
Posts: 2355 | From: Pleasanton, CA | Registered: Apr 2007  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
MargaretSPfan
Full Member
Member # 3632

Member Rated:
5
Icon 1 posted      Profile for MargaretSPfan     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
RRRICH --
If you use either FireFox or Chrome for your web browser, you can download a free program called "Adblock Plus" that will block all ads from appearing.

Please let us know what you did, and how it worked.

I never see any ads -- ever -- after my son -- who is pretty good at these things -- installed Adblock Plus on my computer. [Smile] I am not a computer expert, so if my son had not been able to download this neat program, I would have chosen to pay someone to do it for me.

Mr. Norman --
I am very pleased you were able to do a workaround on your computer yourself. That was wonderful! [Smile] Only $100 for Geek Squad to come out and do that? That is cheap! Out here -- California -- it'd cost a lot more than that for a home visit.

I don't like ads. I know that all sites need the money and I might donate a bit to my favorite sites to help them, if someone asks as part of a blog or other post. (Wikipedia had a plea for money recently, which was a block of text that appeared above the search result. I didn't mind that at all, as they really are quite deserving on help, and that banner was not there for that many days, and all I had to do was scroll down if I didn't want to see it.).

Posts: 211 | From: California | Registered: Dec 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
RRRICH
Full Member
Member # 1418

Member Rated:
5
Icon 1 posted      Profile for RRRICH     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Thanks, Gil -- I too have noticed that the pop-up also appears in other sites. I went ahead and disabled most of the add-ons, as you suggested. We'll see how that works.

Thanks for the advice....

Rich Kimmel

Posts: 2427 | From: Grayling, MI | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Railroad Bob
Full Member
Member # 3508

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Railroad Bob     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
All I see are the small "non popping" ads. Running a mid-2012 MacBookPro retina using (always) the latest version of Firefox with the program Margaret helpfully mentioned: Adblock Plus. There are a few other ways to tamp down these pop ups; sometimes one will still appear on other boards/sites, but not at the Rail Forum.

Good Holidays All-

RR Bob

Posts: 588 | From: East San Diego County, CA | Registered: Oct 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
RRRICH
Full Member
Member # 1418

Member Rated:
5
Icon 1 posted      Profile for RRRICH     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Gil's suggestion (disable add-ons) appears to have worked for me for now. Now I have another problem -- every time I open Train Web, the system shows I'm not logged in, so I have to log in every Train Web session. I check the box that says "remain logged in after I close Train Web," or whatever, but the system still logs me out and I have to re-log in next tume I open the site.
Posts: 2427 | From: Grayling, MI | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Gilbert B Norman
Full Member
Member # 1541

Member Rated:
4
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Gilbert B Norman     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Has the AutoComplete Password feature Microsoft offers been enabled?

This is a dialog box that shows up when logging in for the first time after your browsing history is deleted.

Posts: 9391 | From: Clarendon Hills, IL USA (BNSF Chicago Sub MP 18.71) | Registered: Apr 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
RRRICH
Full Member
Member # 1418

Member Rated:
5
Icon 1 posted      Profile for RRRICH     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Gil -- I just had my computer cleaned and "devirused," and now I have to sign in again to both AOL and Train Web when I open the site, even after checking boxes saying "remember me"

Where do I find the "AutoComplete password?"

Posts: 2427 | From: Grayling, MI | Registered: Mar 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Gilbert B Norman
Full Member
Member # 1541

Member Rated:
4
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Gilbert B Norman     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
RICH, I should best defer to the technicians you used for the 'tune up', as I think you have thirty days in which to have any problems addressed (at least that is what Best Buy/Geek Squad offers)..
Posts: 9391 | From: Clarendon Hills, IL USA (BNSF Chicago Sub MP 18.71) | Registered: Apr 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
   

Quick Reply
Message:

HTML is not enabled.
UBB Code™ is enabled.

Instant Graemlins
   


Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic   Feature Topic   Move Topic   Delete Topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:


Contact Us | Home Page

Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classic™ 6.7.2




Copyright © 2007-2016 TrainWeb, Inc. Top of Page|TrainWeb|About Us|Advertise With Us|Contact Us