RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Passenger Trains » Amtrak » TRAVEL WRITER SEEKS TIPS

Author Topic: TRAVEL WRITER SEEKS TIPS
peery
Member # 2254

Rate Member
Icon 5 posted      Profile for peery     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
I'm a travel writer prepping for my first Amtrak adventure. Starting in mid February I will be going from San Diego to Denver (stop), then on to Charlottesville, VA (stop) via Chicago and Washington. From Charlottesville I will go over to the Greenbrier resort for a few days and then back to Charlottesville to pick up the train to New Orleans. From New Orleans I'll be coming back to San Diego via LA. I'm due back on 2 March. I've gone for the standard sleeping compartment where available. I am traveling solo. I am looking for advice from experienced Amtrak riders: 1) one generic tip that applies to any Amtrak train, and 2) specific tips for any of these seven trips. Hopefully these will ease my travels and be of use to future readers. Feel free to email me at peery@ix.netcom.com by 10 February. Thanx for your help.
Posts: 3 | From: San Diego, CA | Registered: Jan 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a Moderator
Newtimes
Member # 2037

Rate Member
Icon 1 posted      Profile for Newtimes     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
Peery, sounds like a great trip. I live in Lynchburg, Virginia (65 miles South of Charlottesville and the first stop after boarding) and your trip is similar to one I have thought of many times (minues the Greenbrier).

I recommend purchasing two books, "All Aboard" by Jim Loomis and "USA by Rail" by John Pitt. These books compliment each other on information with little redundancy.