RailForum.com
TrainWeb.com

RAILforum Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | directory login | register | search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» RAILforum » Passenger Trains » Amtrak » Where did you 'Go to School' and......... (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2   
Author Topic: Where did you 'Go to School' and.........
notelvis
Member # 3071

Member Rated:
Icon 1 posted      Profile for notelvis     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote 
did you ever use the the train to get you there or go to 'the big game'?

With apologies to Gilbert Norman......but how about a thread where we can talk about where we went to school, who we root for, and did you ever take the train in connection with your alma mater?

I'll start - I have a Bachelor's degree from tiny Mars Hill College in Western North Carolina and a masters from the University of Maryland. My chief rooting interest though would be the University of Kentucky which is where my dad was a graduate student and where we lived when I began paying attention to such things. (I can recall seeing the remnants of Southern Railway's 'Royal Palm' in the late 60's passing through Lexington and Georgetown, KY) We Kentucky fans, naturally, are entitled to no opinion about football.

As for connecting this to trains - the nearest railroad station to Mars Hill, Marshall, NC, became freight only when the last Carolina Special ran in December 1968. However, a couple of years before that my father, who was the band director at Mars Hill College, took his band on a chartered train (with other supporters from the college of course) from Marshall to Jefferson City, TN for an away football game with Carson-Newman College.